Basketball Without Borders launches at the AIS.

On Sunday, Basketball without Borders (BWB), the NBA and FIBA’s global basketball development and community outreach program, returned to Australia for the first time since 2016 to launch the 12th BWB Asia camp at NBA Global Academy, the league’s elite basketball training center at Basketball Australia’s Centre of Excellence at the AIS. This year, BWB Asia featured the top 60 high-school age boys and girls from 15 countries and territories across the Asia-Pacific region, who had the opportunity to learn from NBA All-Star Jarrett Allen (Cleveland Cavaliers), Australian native and BWB alumnus Josh Green (Dallas Mavericks), Cameron Johnson (Phoenix Suns) and Coby White (Chicago Bulls). NBA assistant coaches Damian Cotter (Bulls), David Akinyooye (Oklahoma City Thunder) and Eric Glass (Miami Heat); New York Knicks international scout and Serbia Men’s National Team assistant coach Adam Tatalovich; former WNBA players Kristi Harrower (Australia) and Annie La Fleur (Australia); and FIBA Players’ Commission Deputy Chairwoman and former Australia Women’s National Team player Jenni Screen (Australia) are serving as BWB Asia coaches. In addition, Patrick Hunt (President of the World Association of Basketball Coaches) is the camp director, while Dan Shimensky (Denver Nuggets) is serving as the camp’s athletic trainer. BWB Asia 2022 tipped off with an opening ceremony with remarks from FIBA Oceania Executive Director Amanda Jenkins, Camp Director Patrick Hunt, NBA Head of International Basketball Operations Chris Ebersole, and Josh Green, who previously participated as a camper in BWB Global 2018 in Los Angeles. The morning session had the campers experience a variety of on and off-the-court activities, including movement efficiency, positional skill development, shooting and skills competitions, and 5-on-5 games. In the afternoon, more than 50 coaches attended the FIBA coaches clinic, which featured advanced basketball instruction from BWB coaches Damian Cotter, Eric Glass and Jenni Screen.

View this post on Instagram

A post shared by NBA Australia (@nbaaustralia)

 A record 41 former BWB campers were among the record 121 international players on 2021-22 NBA opening-night rosters, including 2022 NBA All-Rookie Second Team member and NBA Global Academy graduate Josh Giddey (Thunder; Australia; BWB Asia 2018 and BWB Global 2020), Green (BWB Global 2018) and 2020 NBA All-Rookie Second Team member Rui Hachimura (Washington Wizards; Japan; BWB Global 2016). The NBA and FIBA have hosted 64 BWB camps in 30 countries since the program’s launch in 2001.  BWB has reached more than 3,800 participants from 133 countries and territories, with 105 former campers having advanced to the NBA or WNBA. The following is a complete list of players participating in BWB Asia 2022 (rosters subject to change): GIRLS ROSTER

First Name Last Name Country/Region/Territory
Layla Cameron Australia
Holly Griffiths Australia
Lulu Laditan Australia
Ruby Vlahov Australia
Shomira Bidaye India
Yashneet Kaur India
Kavya Singla India
Angelica Jennifer Candra Indonesia
Deewell Windy Dido Gosal Indonesia
Vanissa Renata Siregar Indonesia
Reina Fukuo Japan
Honoka Morioka Japan
Chinami Yokoyama Japan
Anna Kochura Kazakhstan
Waimanu Clarken New Zealand
Maia Riley Jones New Zealand
Lilly Taulelei New Zealand
Quinn Kacey Dela Rosa Philippines
Dianne Camille Nolasco Philippines
Kayla Lim Singapore
Seo Jinyeong South Korea
Kim Sooin South Korea
Siriwimon Damrongchai Thailand
Priscilla Langkilde Jensen Thailand


First Name Last Name Country/Region/Territory
Carlin Briggs Australia
Joshua Dent Australia
Joshua Hughes Australia
Joshua Ibukunoluwa Australia
James O’Donnell Australia
Kye Savage Australia
Soy Pisey Cambodia
Junjie Barry Wang China
Yijiong “Joe” Zhang China
Xian-Wei Lin Chinese Taipei
Harsh Dagar India
Jaideep Rathore India
Kushal Singh India
Lokendra Singh India
Arthur Vadel Krisma Putra Indonesia
Mohamad Amini Iran
Sarem Jafari Iran
Akira Jacobs Japan
Yuto Kawashima Japan
Taiga Okada Japan
Hayato Wakugawa Japan
Adil Kuantayev Kazakhstan
Daniil Severgin Kazakhstan
Roman Tikhonov Kyrgyzstan
Rayan Hachem Lebanon
Dontae Nance New Zealand
William Passi New Zealand
Kalid Petzer New Zealand
William Shortt New Zealand
L.A. John Andres Philippines
Jared Bahay Philippines
Caelum Emmanuel Harris Philippines
Zhen Yu Ching Singapore
Seungwoo Kim South Korea
Chan You Ko South Korea
Gwanwoo Lee South Korea
Vladimir Bespalov Uzbekistan
Artyom Malikov Uzbekistan
Dinh Quang Duong Vietnam


Major Partners