2022 National junior squads head to the AIS

The AIS will welcome 105 of the best young basketballers in the country through their doors during March as the Centre of Excellence (COE) hosts four junior national squad camps. With a busy schedule of FIBA youth events scheduled for 2022, the Under 17 Women and Men will start preparations for the FIBA Asia Cup and FIBA World Cup while the Under 19 squads also commence their journies to the FIBA Oceania Championships. Athletes for the four squads have been identified from performances at the 2021 Australian Junior Championships, as well as their respective State Performance Programs as part of the National Performance Pathway. The Under 17 Men (athletes born in 2005 and 2006) will be the first to come together, meeting at the COE March 8-10 to start their journey towards the FIBA Asia Under 17 Cup, to be held in Kuwait, June 12-19. Melbourne United NBL championship Assistant Coach Justin Schueller will be at the helm of the team for the 2022 campaign. The WNBL Bendigo Spirit's Head Coach Tracy York will lead the Under 17 Women (Sapphires), who have FIBA Asia Cup qualifiers in Jordan in June, leading into a potential World Cup in Hungary in July. The Sapphires will be in camp March 21-23 as they gear up for a big year for this talented young group. Both men and women Under 19 squads will meet at the CoE from March 18-20 for a 3-day intensive camp. David Herbert will once again coach the Under 19 women, after leading the Gems to a silver medal at the 2021 FIBA Under 19 World Cup while CoE head coach Robbie McKinlay will lead the Under 19 Men as the Emus come together for the first time for the March 18 camp. Full squad lists: U17 MEN'S SQUAD: Brad Ballinger                NSW Abass Bodija                  Queensland Ethan Bolton                  Victoria Lachlan Brewer             Tasmania Carlin Briggs                   Victoria Lebron Brooks               Queensland Tyson Crees                    Queensland Josh Dent                        NSW Tristan Devers               Victoria Charlie Dimmock          WA Alex Dodson                   SA Riley Dunn                      Victoria Luke Fennell                  Victoria Kristian Ferronato        Victoria Corey Hastings              Victoria Nevarda Higgins           Queensland Joshua Hughes              Queensland Josh Ibukunoluwa        WA Elijah Kamu                    Queensland Will Mortimore             NSW Anthony Mundine       NSW James O’Donnell          NSW Noah Pagotto                NSW Jaylen Pitman                Queensland Ned Renfree                   Victoria Ky Savage                        Tasmania Roman Siulepa              Queensland Thomas Snelgrove       WA Martin Steen                  Victoria Ben Waller                      Victoria Rocco Zikarsky               Queensland U17 WOMEN'S SQUAD: Opal Bird                         NSW Monique Bobongie      Queensland Olivia Bradley                SA Jayda Clark                     WA Edie Clarke                     Victoria Meera Coburn               NSW Macey Crawford           Tasmania Emma Donnelly            NSW Hilary Fuller                    Queensland Rubi Gray                        Tasmania Summah Hanson          Queensland Sienna Harvey               Victoria Isla Juffermans              NSW Amy Kurkowski             Victoria Caitlyn Martin               NSW Georgia McBean           Victoria Savannah Metcalfe      WA Jessica Petrie                 Queensland Sarah Portlock               Victoria Saffron Shiels                 NSW Lulu Twidale                  Queensland Kyra Webb                      Victoria Isabel Whitelaw            Victoria Monique Williams       WA U19 WOMEN'S SQUAD: Dyani Ananiev               Victoria Isobel Borlase                SA Tayla Brazel                    SA Sophie Burrows             Victoria Jada Crawshaw             NSW Emily Foy                         NSW Ella Gordon                    Queensland Holly Griffiths                Victoria Amelia Hassett              NSW Tess Heal                         Victoria Felicity Henderson       NSW Mia Jacobs                      WA Charli Kay                        Tasmania Tenielle Knight              Victoria Grace Little                     Queensland Dallas Loughridge        Victoria Skye Mason                    Queensland Taylor Moffat                SA Rose Nelson                   NSW Amy O’Hara                    Victoria Carla Pitman                  NSW Nyadiew Puoch             Victoria Lilly Rotunno                 Queensland Jess Simons                    SA U19 MEN'S SQUAD: Bowyn Beatty                ACT Jensen Bradtke             Victoria Alex Condon                  WA Joel DeBarros                NT Tomas Dobson              WA Ethan Elliott                  WA Harrison Evans             NSW Thomas Gerovich         WA Jackson Harding          Victoria Rory Hawke                   Queensland Ben Henshall                 WA Darcy Jones                   Victoria Alex Kovatchev             WA Chol Machot                  Victoria AJ Magbegor                                Victoria Kobe McDowell-White               Queensland Cooper Osborne                          SA Geordan Papacostas                   Queensland Daniel Poelsma                           Victoria Tyrese Proctor                             NSW Kane Runnalls                             Queensland Sean Stock                                    SA Alex Toohey                                 ACT Yaak Yaak                                     SA Luca Yates                                    Queensland

Major Partners