U17 Men named for 2015 Oceania Championship

12 players have been selected to represent Australia at the FIBA Under-17 Oceania Championship in August.

The Australian team will face off against Tahiti, New Caledonia and New Zealand with the tournament held from August 15-17 in Silverstream, New Zealand.

Should they advance to the gold medal match, the Under-17's will then play in a curtain-raiser to the Boomers and Tall Blacks clash in Wellington on August 18.

Nine members of the team represented their states in the Under-18 and Under-16 Australian Junior Championships earlier this year.

From Vic Metro, Patrick Bines and Mate Colina finished fourth at the Under-18's and although Bailey Griffiths was absent from that tournament, he will have experience playing with those two as the third Vic Metro representative.

From NSW Country, Lachlan Dent averaged 18.5 points at the Under-16's to finish fourth in scoring while Kyle Zunic's eight points per game helped NSW Country to the gold medal at the Under-18's.

NSW Metro also has two representatives in Benjamin Fakira, who recorded six games of double-figure rebounds at the Under-16's and Dragan Elkaz who averaged five points at the Under-18's.

From the Under-16 championship winning Qld North side comes Samson Froling while captain of Qld South at the Under-18's Tom Fullarton and Vic Country star Matthew Johns will also be present.

Rounding out the team, 196cm Jordan Starr comes from Foothills Christian High School in San Diego while Alexander Mudronja is an SA native who has already made a name for himself in junior competitions.

The 2015 Under-17 Oceania Championship men's team: Patrick Bines (Vic) Melbourne Mate Colina (Vic) Melbourne Lachlan Dent (NSW) Illawarra Dragan Elkaz (NSW) Bankstown Benjamin Fakira (NSW) Hornsby Samson Froling (Qld) Townsville Tom Fullarton (Qld) Maroochydore Bailey Griffiths (Vic) Melbourne Matthew Johns (Vic) Geelong Alexander Mudronja (SA) Sturt Jordan Starr (USA) San Diego Kyle Zunic (NSW) Illawarra

Emergencies: Brady Armstrong (Tas) Devonport, Callum Dalton (Qld) Gold Coast, Ky Matthews-Hampton (SA) Eastern, Ryan Runnalls (Qld) Cairns

Major Partners